FLIRTING WITH THE FLIRTS

The early 80’s was a frivolous time; I was dividing life between NYC and London. Before I went to London, I was asked to sing on two records for The Flirts, who were then a big dance/disco project masterminded by Bobby Orlando. Orlando did try to sign me but I was already on my way to London to sign a Warner Brother’s deal. He had a formula for success; he mimicked hit records and he hired different singers to perform at the recording sessions. I did a buy-out for HELPLESS (YOU TOOK MY LOVE) and MAKING TIME–on which Belinda Carlisle sings backup. (Buy-out means a negotiated rate and no royalties. This was a non-union session.) Turns out HELPLESS rose to the top of the charts. Initially, the group was made up of models and performers-seven or eight of them–who impersonated a group. Now with millions of views on youtube for HELPLESS I want to set the record straight–it’s my voice!

Leave a Reply

